Awards & Recognitions

Chelsea Rochman has been named to the Royal Society’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Arts and Science Awards Banner

Six researchers from across the Faculty of Arts & Science are among the 15 University of Toronto scholars and scientists named today by the Royal Society of Canada as Fellows of the Society or Members of its College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

Founded in 1883, the Royal Society of Canada — the nation’s academy of scholars, scientists and artists — recognizes individuals from all branches of learning who have made remarkable contributions in the arts, the humanities and the sciences, as well as in Canadian public life. Since 1882, new Fellows have been nominated and elected by their peers who are themselves Fellows of the Society.

In addition to the new Fellows, Chelsea Rochman, assistant professor, Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, has been named to the Royal Society’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists, which recognizes excellence among the emerging generation of scholars, scientists and artists. Established in 2014, members of the College have, at an early stage in their career, demonstrated a high level of achievement.

The 2020 Fellows and College Members will be celebrated in a hybrid in-person/online induction ceremony on November 27, 2020 during the Royal Society of Canada’s Celebration of Excellence & Engagement, hosted by U of T. Medal and award recipients will also be celebrated at that time.

Read more